Willkommen

… auf den Seiten der interdisziplinären Forschergruppe zu Cultural Property.

Ab Juni 2008 arbeiteten zunächst Wissenschaftler/innen der Universitäten Göttingen und Hamburg, seit 2011 der Universitäten Göttingen und Tübingen, aus den Bereichen Kulturanthropologie/ Europäische Ethnologie, Volkswirtschaft, Ethnologie, Wirtschafts- und Völkerrecht zu Cultural Property (kulturelles Eigentum). Mittlerweile befindet sich das Projekt in der zweiten Phase. Mit einem interdisziplinären Ansatz untersucht die aus Mitteln der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderte Forschergruppe die Konstituierung von Cultural Property, seinen Akteuren, Diskursen, Kontexten und Regeln.

Die Konstituierung von cultural property: Akteure, Diskurse, Kontexte, Regeln

Cultural Property ist ein Konzept mit weitreichenden Folgen. Das Interesse, Cultural Property dem Markt zuzuführen oder dies zu verhindern und hierdurch kollektiven oder individuellen, ideologischen oder ökonomischen Gewinn zu schaffen, gestaltet sich unter den stark divergierenden Bedingungen, die Akteure in einer postkolonialen, spätmodernen Welt vorfinden, schwierig.

Die Forschergruppe befasst sich mit der Konstituierung von Cultural Property im Spannungsfeld von kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen, juristischen und gesellschaftspolitischen Diskursen. Durch den Fokus auf Akteure, Diskurse, Kontexte und Regeln, die zur unterschiedlichen Konstituierung von Cultural Property führen, zeigt die Forschergruppe die dem Konzept inhärente Problematik auf und trägt zur Erklärung und zum Verstehen dieses Phänomens bei. Dies bedarf der bisher noch nie versuchten Zusammenführung von Kompetenzen aus den betroffenen Wissenschaften.

Die Forschergruppe setzt sich aus Fachwissenschaftler/innen aus Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften, Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften zusammen. Sie führt Mikrostudien zu verschiedenen Konstituierungsebenen von Cultural Property zusammen mit theoretischen Modellen zur wirtschaftlichen und rechtlichen Institutionenbildung. Der notwendige holistische Zugriff auf Theorie und Praxis von Cultural Property führt durch die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zu einer gegenseitigen Erweiterung der Wissensbasis um zentrale Erkenntnisinteressen und methodische Zugriffe.

Anhand der Arbeit zu Cultural Property wird, gefördert durch die Interdisziplinarität, parallel unter dem Stichwort Wissenstransfer die Behebung von konzeptuellen Wissensdefiziten sowohl in den beteiligten Fachwissenschaften wie auch rund um Cultural Property in verschiedene Öffentlichkeiten angestrebt. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit nationalen und internationalen Wissenschaftler/innen baut die Forschergruppe ein für den deutschsprachigen Raum einmaliges interdisziplinäres Kompetenznetzwerk auf zu Fragen der Cultural Property und des Urheberrechts als Basis sowohl wissenschaftlicher wie politikberatender Informationsvermittlung.

Welcome

… to the Homepage of our Interdisciplinary Research Group on Cultural Property.

In June 2008, researchers at the Universities of Göttingen and Hamburg began an interdisciplinary project on Cultural Property supported by funds from the Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft. Since 2011, the research team is composed of scholars in cultural anthropology/European Social and Cultural Anthropology, economics, Social and Cultural Anthropology, commercial and international law from the Universities of Göttingen and Tübingen. By now, the project has entered the second stage. These six linked projects are devoted to the question of how cultural property is constituted, focusing on actors, discourses, contexts and rules.

The Constituting of Cultural Property: Actors, Discourses, Contexts, Rules

Cultural Property is a concept with far-reaching consequences. The interest in bringing cultural property to market (or to block it from reaching the marketplace) and thereby realize an economic, ideological, collective, or individual profit has proven difficult in light of the highly divergent circumstances that actors face in a post-colonial, late-modern world.

Our group of researchers is engaged in examining the constituting of cultural property at the intersection of conflicting priorities in cultural, economic, legal, and social discourses. By focusing on the actors, discourses, contexts and rules that have led to different ways of constituting cultural property, the research group highlights the problematic nature inherent to the concept of cultural property itself, with an eye to both understanding and explaining it as a phenomenon.

This also calls for a heretofore unprecedented combining of expertise from various disciplines; the research group includes specialists from the humanities and the social sciences, as well as from law and economics. Together, they conduct both micro-studies that address the different levels at which cultural property is constituted as well as formulate theories of institution-building based on jurisprudential and economic models – with the micro-level augmenting the macro-level, and vice versa. Interdisciplinary cooperation, and the holistic intermeshing of theory and practice with respect to cultural property lead, across disciplines, to the mutual enhancement of basic knowledge, of central epistemic concerns, and of methodology.

The exchange of knowledge such interdisciplinary work promotes will help remedy the deficits that exist in the various disciplines with respect not only to concept formation but also to empirical work thus far undertaken. Work on cultural property is meant to reach differing publics, and in cooperating with national and international scholars, the research group builds a network, unique in German-speaking Europe, that has the subject competence to address numerous aspects of questions that arise about cultural property and copyright. This network serves as a basis both for communicating with other researchers in this area and serve as an information conduit to decision-makers.